Go Back   Trackpads Community > General Discussions > Computer and Technology > Web Design

Web Design Forums and discussions on webdesign

Web Design

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-22-2005, 20:00   #1 (permalink)
skipintro@gmail.com
Civilians

 
Default Is Serverfly legit?

Folks:

I set up a few domains with serverfly, along with Pop email, etc. These
were very simple sites, a few static pages, etc.

After a few weeks, the site went down. Now all I see is the "PHP"
version page in place of my home page, I can no longer log into their
"control panel", and my email bounces.

Their tech support doesn't seem to have a clue. They told me that my
"domains are pointing to the wrong server" Note that they handled
everything from registering the domain, DNS, setting up initial
placeholder site.

Is this company real? Or did I get duped by some amateur operation with
a slick facade? I don't see many people talking about them on usenet,
etc.

--
Skip

 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Trackpads Information
Click to Visit
Old 07-23-2005, 08:00   #2 (permalink)
Kerry
Civilians

 
Default Re: Is Serverfly legit?


<skipintro@gmail.com> wrote in message
news:1122071872.714067.323630@g14g2000cwa.googlegr oups.com...
> Folks:
>
> I set up a few domains with serverfly, along with Pop email, etc. These
> were very simple sites, a few static pages, etc.
>
> After a few weeks, the site went down. Now all I see is the "PHP"
> version page in place of my home page, I can no longer log into their
> "control panel", and my email bounces.
>
> Their tech support doesn't seem to have a clue. They told me that my
> "domains are pointing to the wrong server" Note that they handled
> everything from registering the domain, DNS, setting up initial
> placeholder site.
>
> Is this company real? Or did I get duped by some amateur operation with
> a slick facade? I don't see many people talking about them on usenet,
> etc.
>
> --
> Skip
>


I had kind of the same problem. I registered some domains with
Registerfly.com and used their offer of free web space at Serverfly. But
like yourself I had to continually call them due to dns problems to get my
sites to show up. I eventually gave up and changed to another server. I'm
surprised to hear they still haven't got their act together. My experiences
with them were about 3 years ago!

Regards

Kerry


 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2005, 00:00   #3 (permalink)
webguymatt@yahoo.com
Civilians

 
Default Re: Is Serverfly legit?

Hi there,

I was a serverfly customer for about a year... right up until earlier
this week. All of a sudden my site was magically replaced with a page
that said "this account has been suspended". We immediately contacted
customer support and they replied with a vague explanation... honestly,
all they told us was that our site was responsible for two server
crashes and we'd been suspended for "abusing mySQL".

I pointed out to the customer service rep that (a) we hadn't done any
development in months and (b) we were only using scripts and tools that
serverfly includes with all hosting packages. This didn't faze them,
they said we could either pay an extra $20/month because of the
"problems we were causing" or we could find another provider.

Suffice to say we chose the latter.

So longer story short, Serverfly sucks!

Cheers,
Matt

skipintro@gmail.com wrote:
> Folks:
>
> I set up a few domains with serverfly, along with Pop email, etc. These
> were very simple sites, a few static pages, etc.
>
> After a few weeks, the site went down. Now all I see is the "PHP"
> version page in place of my home page, I can no longer log into their
> "control panel", and my email bounces.
>
> Their tech support doesn't seem to have a clue. They told me that my
> "domains are pointing to the wrong server" Note that they handled
> everything from registering the domain, DNS, setting up initial
> placeholder site.
>
> Is this company real? Or did I get duped by some amateur operation with
> a slick facade? I don't see many people talking about them on usenet,
> etc.
>
> --
> Skip


 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Veterans' Benefit program - Scam or Legit? jjvman Services Organizations 0 11-09-2006 13:38
Re: computer / os not legit :-( Joel Microsoft Applications 1 08-04-2005 12:00
Re: computer / os not legit :-( Joel Microsoft Applications 1 08-01-2005 12:00
ServerFly Query Geo Logics Web Design 0 02-17-2005 08:00
Hmm... trying to make a legit copy for a friend... jtougas Gaming club 20 08-05-2004 01:45


Community Information
Options
Quick Options
Trackpads Non-Commercial Ad
Copyright Information Click to Visit
Time
Server Time
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 20:01.
Copyright
Copyright Information
The header is based off of work by Vipixel.com and modified by this site. Trackpads and the Trackpads Logo are both Registered Trademarks of Jason Edwards and cannot be used without prior written permission.  The only exception is as a link back to this site. Trackpads is a private website run by a small legion of volunteers, 3 dogs, 12.5 cats and an army of small, super smart, bio-engineered mice with pointy hats and tutu's. Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0 RC7
Archive Links
Archive Links
Page generated in 0.74799 seconds with 19 queries