![]() | ![]() | ![]() |
| |||||||
| Forums | Register | Groups | Awards | Arcade | Pets | T-Bucks / T-Store | Invite Your Friends | Blogs | Mark Forums Read |
| Web Design Forums and discussions on webdesign |
Web Design | |||||||||
|
|
|
|
| |||||
![]() |
| | LinkBack | Thread Tools |
| | #1 (permalink) |
| Civilians | "Jim" <spamaddyTAKEOUT@bellsouth.net> writes: > I've either been scammed or very unfortunate. > > I've been talking to a customer about a building a website for the past > couple of weeks. The name, jodysoptical.com was available during these > negotiations. What sites were you using to determine jodysoptical.com was available during these negotiations? That might dictate whether a scam is at work. > Are people like Nameview.com "spying" on domain name searches then > snapping them up for resale? I've always suspected that there are folks in the business of this (or envisioned the technical possibility), so I've always been very careful about where I did my search for available domain names. This is the first I've heard of hard confirmation of someone being affected by it. Best Regards, -- Todd H. http://www.toddh.net/ |
|
| | #2 (permalink) |
| Civilians | "Todd H." <comphelp@toddh.net> wrote in message news:84hdeo6x7i.fsf@ripco.com... > "Jim" <spamaddyTAKEOUT@bellsouth.net> writes: > >> I've either been scammed or very unfortunate. >> >> I've been talking to a customer about a building a website for the past >> couple of weeks. The name, jodysoptical.com was available during these >> negotiations. > > What sites were you using to determine jodysoptical.com was available > during these negotiations? That might dictate whether a scam is at > work. > >> Are people like Nameview.com "spying" on domain name searches then >> snapping them up for resale? > > I've always suspected that there are folks in the business of this (or > envisioned the technical possibility), so I've always been very > careful about where I did my search for available domain names. This > is the first I've heard of hard confirmation of someone being affected > by it. > > Best Regards, > -- > Todd H. > http://www.toddh.net/ Hi, where would you suggest doing name searches and name purchases? Paul www.paulwatt.info |
|
| | #3 (permalink) |
| Civilians | "Jim" <spamaddyTAKEOUT@bellsouth.net> writes: > Surely two or three searches for "jodysoptical" at Netsol wouldn't trigger a > purchase of a domain . . . . Or would it? I wouldn't put anything past the crooks at Network Solutions. -- Todd H. http://www.toddh.net/ |
|
| | #4 (permalink) |
| Civilians | On 21 Jul 2005 11 20 -0500, comphelp@toddh.net (Todd H.) wrote:>"Jim" <spamaddyTAKEOUT@bellsouth.net> writes: > >> Surely two or three searches for "jodysoptical" at Netsol wouldn't trigger a >> purchase of a domain . . . . Or would it? > >I wouldn't put anything past the crooks at Network Solutions. My thoughts exactly. -- Ken http://www.ke9nr.net/ |
|
| | #5 (permalink) |
| Civilians | In article <CxPDe.16522$dz.15797@bignews4.bellsouth.net>, "Jim" <spamaddyTAKEOUT@bellsouth.net> wrote: > That shouldn't matter. When signed into Godaddy, I'm under a RC4 128-bit > encryption. Surely Nameview.com hasn't somehow broken this security and > somehow knew I was about to buy the domain. If you were using Windows at the time, there are 800 easier ways for malware to monitor your web usage than breaking encryption. |
|
| | #6 (permalink) |
| Civilians | "Doc O'Leary" <droleary.usenet@2h2005.subsume.com> wrote in message news:droleary.usenet-C8CF4E.23241621072005@corp.supernews.com... > In article <CxPDe.16522$dz.15797@bignews4.bellsouth.net>, > "Jim" <spamaddyTAKEOUT@bellsouth.net> wrote: > >> That shouldn't matter. When signed into Godaddy, I'm under a RC4 128-bit >> encryption. Surely Nameview.com hasn't somehow broken this security and >> somehow knew I was about to buy the domain. > > If you were using Windows at the time, there are 800 easier ways for > malware to monitor your web usage than breaking encryption. I'd be willing to bet a large sum of money that there is no malware on my system. And there are many more than 800. ![]() -- Jim |
|
| | #7 (permalink) |
| Civilians | In article <eM6Ee.14953$do5.14239@bignews5.bellsouth.net>, "Jim" <spamaddyTAKEOUT@bellsouth.net> wrote: > I'd be willing to bet a large sum of money that there is no malware on my > system. Any good con knows that the easiest person to fool is the one who is certain they cannot be fooled. I'll take that bet if you give me good odds. Say 800 to 1? > And there are many more than 800. ![]() Microsoft innovation hard at work. |
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
| Thread Tools | |
| |
Similar Threads | ||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Spying gets serious and expensive under the sea | DocDiggs | Point/Counterpoint | 2 | 01-31-2006 17:46 |
| Re: Domain name spying? | Heidi | Web Design | 4 | 07-22-2005 16:00 |
| Re: Domain name spying? | Jim | Web Design | 2 | 07-21-2005 20:00 |
| Re: Domain name spying? | Gandalf Parker | Web Design | 0 | 07-21-2005 16:00 |
| free domain hosting / domain name co.nr : any catch? | Thierry | Web Design | 0 | 07-30-2004 07:01 |
![]() | ![]() | ![]() |