Go Back   Trackpads Community > General Discussions > Computer and Technology > Web Design

Web Design Forums and discussions on webdesign

Web Design

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-20-2005, 16:00   #1 (permalink)
Blinky the Shark
Civilians

 
Default That Web Gateway That Was Making Links In Our Posts

Sorry about the clumsy Subject -- couldn't get anything short to make
sense.

That gateway that was stealing aww and creating links from keywords
in our messages -- was that forums4designers.com? I mentioned that
vile practice in another group, and someone asked me what site was
doing that, and that one sounds familiar but I can't seem to see any
links. I remember "spam" was a keyword they were linking from, and
I've checked some of our posts that contain it, but see no linking.
At the same time, back when we were discussing it, I couldn't
consistently see the linking, here, either. Today, three browsers and
no links.

What are you guys seeing there today?

--
Blinky Linux Registered User 297263
Killing all Usenet posts from Google Groups
Info: http://blinkynet.net/comp/uip5.html
*ALSO contains links for access to the NON-BETA GG archive interface*
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Trackpads Information
Click to Visit
Old 07-20-2005, 20:00   #2 (permalink)
GreyWyvern
Civilians

 
Default Re: That Web Gateway That Was Making Links In Our Posts

And lo, Blinky the Shark didst speak in alt.www.webmaster:

> Sorry about the clumsy Subject -- couldn't get anything short to make
> sense.
>
> That gateway that was stealing aww and creating links from keywords
> in our messages -- was that forums4designers.com?


Also:
dailywebmasters.com
onlinemarketingtoday.com/news/archives/website-development/
hostingforumz.com/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewforum&f=3&fex=Web master
highdots.com/forums/archive/index.php/f-18.html
1-script.com/forums/
domainsdot.net/forum-5.html
everywebmaster.com/forum5.php
webhostfreaks.com/forums/index.php?showforum=29
webservertalk.com/
html-chat.com/html/ (alt.html only)

and of course...

groups.google.com

Grey

--
The technical axiom that nothing is impossible sinisterly implies the
pitfall corollory that nothing is ridiculous.
- http://www.greywyvern.com - Orca Knowledgebase: Completely CSS styleable
Knowledgebase/FAQ system
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2005, 12:00   #3 (permalink)
Matt-the-Hoople
Civilians

 
Default Re: That Web Gateway That Was Making Links In Our Posts

after careful consideration, Blinky the Shark wrote in alt.www.webmaster

> Sorry about the clumsy Subject -- couldn't get anything short to make
> sense.
>
> That gateway that was stealing aww and creating links from keywords
> in our messages -- was that forums4designers.com? I mentioned that
> vile practice in another group, and someone asked me what site was
> doing that, and that one sounds familiar but I can't seem to see any
> links. I remember "spam" was a keyword they were linking from, and
> I've checked some of our posts that contain it, but see no linking.
> At the same time, back when we were discussing it, I couldn't
> consistently see the linking, here, either. Today, three browsers and
> no links.
>
> What are you guys seeing there today?
>


It was indeed forum4designers.com. They were using IntelliTXT from VibrantMedia to extrapolate text links from the content
of their pages. I can't even get to the site right now, so I don't know if that is still in practice - though I would imagine it probably
is

--
Got lint?
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2005, 20:00   #4 (permalink)
Blinky the Shark
Civilians

 
Default Re: That Web Gateway That Was Making Links In Our Posts

Matt-the-Hoople wrote:
> after careful consideration, Blinky the Shark wrote in
> alt.www.webmaster


>> Sorry about the clumsy Subject -- couldn't get anything short to make
>> sense.


>> That gateway that was stealing aww and creating links from keywords
>> in our messages -- was that forums4designers.com? I mentioned that
>> vile practice in another group, and someone asked me what site was
>> doing that, and that one sounds familiar but I can't seem to see any
>> links. I remember "spam" was a keyword they were linking from, and
>> I've checked some of our posts that contain it, but see no linking.
>> At the same time, back when we were discussing it, I couldn't
>> consistently see the linking, here, either. Today, three browsers
>> and no links.


>> What are you guys seeing there today?


> It was indeed forum4designers.com. They were using IntelliTXT from
> VibrantMedia to extrapolate text links from the content of their
> pages. I can't even get to the site right now, so I don't know if
> that is still in practice - though I would imagine it probably is


Can anyone else check it, *please*? I wasn't consistently seeing the
links, here, for some reason, so I can't test it myself with certainty.

--
Blinky Linux Registered User 297263
Killing all Usenet posts from Google Groups
Info: http://blinkynet.net/comp/uip5.html
*ALSO contains links for access to the NON-BETA GG archive interface*
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2005, 20:00   #5 (permalink)
Matt-the-Hoople
Civilians

 
Default Re: That Web Gateway That Was Making Links In Our Posts

after careful consideration, Blinky the Shark wrote in alt.www.webmaster

>
> Can anyone else check it, *please*? I wasn't consistently seeing the
> links, here, for some reason, so I can't test it myself with certainty.
>


I've got intellitxt links there now.

Also, seeing this at the bottom of the page source confirms it:

<SCRIPT language="javascript"
src="http://examnotes.us.intellitxt.com/intellitxt/front.asp?IPID=958&MK=10&FG=0000FF&SN=web,nav"></SCRIPT>



--
Got lint?
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2005, 20:00   #6 (permalink)
Blinky the Shark
Civilians

 
Default Re: That Web Gateway That Was Making Links In Our Posts

Matt-the-Hoople wrote:

> after careful consideration, Blinky the Shark wrote in alt.www.webmaster



>> Can anyone else check it, *please*? I wasn't consistently seeing the
>> links, here, for some reason, so I can't test it myself with certainty.



> I've got intellitxt links there now.


> Also, seeing this at the bottom of the page source confirms it:


><SCRIPT language="javascript"
> src="http://examnotes.us.intellitxt.com/intellitxt/front.asp?IPID=958&MK=10&FG=0000FF&SN=web,nav"></SCRIPT>


Thanks a bunch.

--
Blinky Linux Registered User 297263
Killing all Usenet posts from Google Groups
Info: http://blinkynet.net/comp/uip5.html
*ALSO contains links for access to the NON-BETA GG archive interface*
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The gateway to paradise scotto Chit-Chat 10 09-01-2006 13:00
Posts reported; soft deletion of posts Snowden Archived Help Requests 0 07-30-2005 14:41
Making collapsible Links - I desperately need help. . . sambo Web Design 0 07-23-2004 15:07


Community Information
Options
Quick Options
Trackpads Non-Commercial Ad
Copyright Information Click to Visit
Time
Server Time
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 20:57.
Copyright
Copyright Information
The header is based off of work by Vipixel.com and modified by this site. Trackpads and the Trackpads Logo are both Registered Trademarks of Jason Edwards and cannot be used without prior written permission.  The only exception is as a link back to this site. Trackpads is a private website run by a small legion of volunteers, 3 dogs, 12.5 cats and an army of small, super smart, bio-engineered mice with pointy hats and tutu's. Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0 RC7
Archive Links
Archive Links
Page generated in 2.16593 seconds with 19 queries