Go Back   Trackpads Community > General Discussions > Computer and Technology > Web Design

Web Design Forums and discussions on webdesign

Web Design

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-21-2005, 12:00   #1 (permalink)
tbturbo@hotmail.com
Civilians

 
Default ?Spybill.com?


Has anyone heard of these people?

Last week a customer made a purchase on one of my
client's sites through eCommerceGlobal whom we
use for processing. He says he checked his
credit card statement and in addition to the
legitimate charge there was an identical amount
charged to "Spybill". No other info.

Spybill's site seems to be a front. There is only a
form to use if you have a charge to dispute. There's
nothing else to it that I can find.

The toll free number doesn't work from the country
I'm in.

Google reveals only several German sites that seem to have
info about a trojan called 'Spybill.T'.

Whois reveals the owner lives in Sweden.

So, anyone have any idea who these people are and what they
do? Aside from sneak credit card charges onto people.
Their very name is an odd one for a legit business.
Odd for a scam business too as it rather calls attention
to itself.

Thanks in advance!

R

 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Trackpads Information
Click to Visit
Old 06-21-2005, 16:00   #2 (permalink)
SpaceGirl
Civilians

 
Default Re: ?Spybill.com?

tbturbo@hotmail.com wrote:
> Has anyone heard of these people?
>
> Last week a customer made a purchase on one of my
> client's sites through eCommerceGlobal whom we
> use for processing. He says he checked his
> credit card statement and in addition to the
> legitimate charge there was an identical amount
> charged to "Spybill". No other info.
>
> Spybill's site seems to be a front. There is only a
> form to use if you have a charge to dispute. There's
> nothing else to it that I can find.
>
> The toll free number doesn't work from the country
> I'm in.
>
> Google reveals only several German sites that seem to have
> info about a trojan called 'Spybill.T'.
>
> Whois reveals the owner lives in Sweden.
>
> So, anyone have any idea who these people are and what they
> do? Aside from sneak credit card charges onto people.
> Their very name is an odd one for a legit business.
> Odd for a scam business too as it rather calls attention
> to itself.
>
> Thanks in advance!
>
> R
>


Lost cause I suspect. Have your client dispute the money with their CC
provider, and it should be covered by their insurance. I know my cards
are against online perchases.

--


x theSpaceGirl (miranda)

# lead designer @ http://www.dhnewmedia.com #
# remove NO SPAM to email, or use form on website #
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Community Information
Options
Quick Options
Trackpads Non-Commercial Ad
Copyright Information Click to Visit
Time
Server Time
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 20:27.
Copyright
Copyright Information
The header is based off of work by Vipixel.com and modified by this site. Trackpads and the Trackpads Logo are both Registered Trademarks of Jason Edwards and cannot be used without prior written permission.  The only exception is as a link back to this site. Trackpads is a private website run by a small legion of volunteers, 3 dogs, 12.5 cats and an army of small, super smart, bio-engineered mice with pointy hats and tutu's. Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0 RC7
Archive Links
Archive Links
Page generated in 0.70448 seconds with 18 queries