Go Back   Trackpads Community > General Discussions > Computer and Technology > Web Design

Web Design Forums and discussions on webdesign

Web Design

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-19-2004, 01:00   #1 (permalink)
Someone
Civilians

 
Default More letters from Network Solutions

We haven't used Network Solutions as a registrar for some time now. But
many of our clients have come to us with domains that they or a previous
hosting company registered through Network Solutions when they were the
only registrar.

These clients are getting a fresh wave of threatening letters from Network Solutions
implying that if they don't update their information, they "may" lose their domains.

While it's true their e-mail addresses are bad (we routinely use disposable ones
to cut down the spam from the people Network Solutions sells their information to),
the physical mail addresses are obviously good since they got the letter.

So should we tell the clients to round-file these letters?
H
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Trackpads Information
Click to Visit
Old 12-19-2004, 01:00   #2 (permalink)
Viper
Civilians

 
Default Re: More letters from Network Solutions

Someone wrote:
> We haven't used Network Solutions as a registrar for some time now.
> But
> many of our clients have come to us with domains that they or a
> previous
> hosting company registered through Network Solutions when they were
> the
> only registrar.
>
> These clients are getting a fresh wave of threatening letters from
> Network Solutions implying that if they don't update their
> information, they "may" lose their domains.
>
> While it's true their e-mail addresses are bad (we routinely use
> disposable ones
> to cut down the spam from the people Network Solutions sells their
> information to), the physical mail addresses are obviously good since
> they got the letter.
>
> So should we tell the clients to round-file these letters?
> H


You CAN lose your domain if ANY info is proved to be false. Trust me thats
one way I help get rid of spammers domains. Most registers will give a 2
week notice to the registerant and some ignore the ICANN complaint but after
a month ICANN will force them to lock the domain. I would suggest you tell
your customers to make sure that ALL info is correct. If they are scared NS
will sell their email address then use one that they check like once a month
or so. They can also transfer to a register like http://www.registerfly.com/
that gives you a temp email address that you can change at any time you need
to. They auto filter out spam to the email address, so they say.


 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2004, 01:00   #3 (permalink)
Viper
Civilians

 
Default Re: More letters from Network Solutions

Someone wrote:
> We haven't used Network Solutions as a registrar for some time now.
> But
> many of our clients have come to us with domains that they or a
> previous
> hosting company registered through Network Solutions when they were
> the
> only registrar.
>
> These clients are getting a fresh wave of threatening letters from
> Network Solutions implying that if they don't update their
> information, they "may" lose their domains.
>
> While it's true their e-mail addresses are bad (we routinely use
> disposable ones
> to cut down the spam from the people Network Solutions sells their
> information to), the physical mail addresses are obviously good since
> they got the letter.
>
> So should we tell the clients to round-file these letters?
> H


Also if the email is invalid anda scammer sends a transfer request and your
customer doesnt reject it or the domains not locked it will AUTO transfer to
the scammer within 5 days.


 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2004, 01:00   #4 (permalink)
Steve Sobol
Civilians

 
Default Re: More letters from Network Solutions

Someone wrote:
> We haven't used Network Solutions as a registrar for some time now. But
> many of our clients have come to us with domains that they or a previous
> hosting company registered through Network Solutions when they were the
> only registrar.
>
> These clients are getting a fresh wave of threatening letters from Network Solutions
> implying that if they don't update their information, they "may" lose their domains.
>
> While it's true their e-mail addresses are bad (we routinely use disposable ones
> to cut down the spam from the people Network Solutions sells their information to),
> the physical mail addresses are obviously good since they got the letter.
>
> So should we tell the clients to round-file these letters?



I'd advise them to at least double-check the contact information. Can they lose
the domains? I'm not sure whether ICANN has any rules that registrants must
register domains with usable contact information (I wish they did, but I'm
pretty sure they don't). OTOH, aside from that, I don't know whether Netsol
still snail-mails renewal notifications anymore. If you don't get the renewal
notification and aren't paying attention to the expiration date on your
domains, you could lose the domain.

--
JustThe.net Internet & New Media Services, http://JustThe.net/
Steven J. Sobol, Geek In Charge / 888.480.4NET (4638) / sjsobol@JustThe.net
PGP Key available from your friendly local key server (0xE3AE35ED)
Apple Valley, California Nothing scares me anymore. I have three kids.
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2004, 01:00   #5 (permalink)
Steve Sobol
Civilians

 
Default Re: More letters from Network Solutions

Viper wrote:

> You CAN lose your domain if ANY info is proved to be false. Trust me thats
> one way I help get rid of spammers domains.


God, I wish this was true. Who nukes for improper contact information? No one
that I know of.

Or was I incorrect in my assumption that ICANN doesn't have rules about this stuff?

--
JustThe.net Internet & New Media Services, http://JustThe.net/
Steven J. Sobol, Geek In Charge / 888.480.4NET (4638) / sjsobol@JustThe.net
PGP Key available from your friendly local key server (0xE3AE35ED)
Apple Valley, California Nothing scares me anymore. I have three kids.
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2004, 01:00   #6 (permalink)
Erma1ina
Civilians

 
Default Re: More letters from Network Solutions

Steve Sobol wrote:
>
> Viper wrote:
>
> > You CAN lose your domain if ANY info is proved to be false. Trust me thats
> > one way I help get rid of spammers domains.

>
> God, I wish this was true. Who nukes for improper contact information? No one
> that I know of.
>
> Or was I incorrect in my assumption that ICANN doesn't have rules about this stuff?
>
> --
> JustThe.net Internet & New Media Services, http://JustThe.net/
> Steven J. Sobol, Geek In Charge / 888.480.4NET (4638) / sjsobol@JustThe.net
> PGP Key available from your friendly local key server (0xE3AE35ED)
> Apple Valley, California Nothing scares me anymore. I have three kids.


Yes. You were incorrect in your assumption that ICANN doesn't have rules
about this stuff.

http://www.icann.org/registrars/wdrp.htm
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2004, 07:00   #7 (permalink)
Viper
Civilians

 
Default Re: More letters from Network Solutions

Steve Sobol wrote:
> Viper wrote:
>
>> You CAN lose your domain if ANY info is proved to be false. Trust me
>> thats one way I help get rid of spammers domains.

>
> God, I wish this was true. Who nukes for improper contact
> information? No one that I know of.
>
> Or was I incorrect in my assumption that ICANN doesn't have rules
> about this stuff?


Yes they do and they have started enforcing it. You can report invalid whois
info here: http://wdprs.internic.net/


 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Re: Network Solutions Still Playing Their Games Alan Little Web Design 0 09-22-2005 12:00
Re: Network Solutions Still Playing Their Games Heidi Web Design 0 09-20-2005 20:00
Re: Network Solutions Still Playing Their Games Rex Karz Web Design 0 09-20-2005 16:00
Network Solutions Question Augustus Web Design 1 12-13-2004 16:00
[News Feed] Carlo Gavazzi Renames Electronic Packaging Business Unit to Computing Solutions - Carlo Gavazzi Computing Solutions Hannibal News Articles 0 10-19-2004 16:00


Community Information
Options
Quick Options
Trackpads Non-Commercial Ad
Copyright Information Click to Visit
Time
Server Time
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:57.
Copyright
Copyright Information
The header is based off of work by Vipixel.com and modified by this site. Trackpads and the Trackpads Logo are both Registered Trademarks of Jason Edwards and cannot be used without prior written permission.  The only exception is as a link back to this site. Trackpads is a private website run by a small legion of volunteers, 3 dogs, 12.5 cats and an army of small, super smart, bio-engineered mice with pointy hats and tutu's. Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0 RC7
Archive Links
Archive Links
Page generated in 0.96395 seconds with 19 queries