Go Back   Trackpads Community > General Discussions > Computer and Technology > Web Design

Web Design Forums and discussions on webdesign

Web Design

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-15-2004, 13:00   #1 (permalink)
Tina - AffordableHOST, Inc.
Civilians

 
Default Its started...

This morning I've been under a deluge of transfer requests for domains which
I am listed as admin/tech/billing contact. They are all coming from Domain
Registry of America. The same shady outfit that, a few years back, was
snail mailing what appeared to be invoices to domain registrants. Once a
registrant paid the "invoice", their domains were transferred to DROA.

Anyone else getting hit with these???

--Tina

--
http://www.AffordableHOST.com - Managed, Dedicated and Colo Servers
http://www.AxisHost.com - High bandwidth Cpanel Hosting Accounts
Datacenter located in Grand Rapids, Michigan
Serving the web since 1997


 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Trackpads Information
Click to Visit
Old 11-15-2004, 14:49   #2 (permalink)
Viper
Civilians

 
Default Re: Its started...

Tina - AffordableHOST, Inc. wrote:
> This morning I've been under a deluge of transfer requests for
> domains which I am listed as admin/tech/billing contact. They are
> all coming from Domain Registry of America. The same shady outfit
> that, a few years back, was snail mailing what appeared to be
> invoices to domain registrants. Once a registrant paid the
> "invoice", their domains were transferred to DROA.
> Anyone else getting hit with these???
>
> --Tina


Nothing here yet... File a lawsuit!


 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2004, 14:49   #3 (permalink)
Gerry W ( Use my name at dergal dot c o m for emai
Civilians

 
Default Re: Its started...

Tina - AffordableHOST, Inc. wrote:
> This morning I've been under a deluge of transfer requests for domains which
> I am listed as admin/tech/billing contact. They are all coming from Domain
> Registry of America. The same shady outfit that, a few years back, was
> snail mailing what appeared to be invoices to domain registrants. Once a
> registrant paid the "invoice", their domains were transferred to DROA.
>
> Anyone else getting hit with these???
>
> --Tina
>


wow - I was hoping those guys had gone ... I hadn't seen anything from
them for a while ...

 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2004, 14:49   #4 (permalink)
Tina - AffordableHOST, Inc.
Civilians

 
Default Re: Its started...


"Gerry W ( Use my name at dergal dot c o m for email "
<questions@exleaseit.co.uk> wrote in message
news:1t6md.15433$up1.10698@text.news.blueyonder.co .uk...
> Tina - AffordableHOST, Inc. wrote:
>> This morning I've been under a deluge of transfer requests for domains
>> which I am listed as admin/tech/billing contact. They are all coming
>> from Domain Registry of America. The same shady outfit that, a few years
>> back, was snail mailing what appeared to be invoices to domain
>> registrants. Once a registrant paid the "invoice", their domains were
>> transferred to DROA.
>>
>> Anyone else getting hit with these???
>>
>> --Tina
>>

>
> wow - I was hoping those guys had gone ... I hadn't seen anything from
> them for a while ...


Here's the full text of what I've been sending to everyone I know:


Today, I've been hit with a deluge of transfer requests for various domain
names that I manage. Almost all of them are coming from the Domain Registry
of America.

I believe they are taking advantage of ICANN's new policy regarding domain
name transfer requests, as outlined in this article:

http://news.netcraft.com/archives/20...me_easier.html

Basically, if you don't specifically say "no, don't transfer me!" - it will
automatically go through in 5 days.

1. Make absolutely sure that your correct email address is listed on your
domain name record. Don't assume you do and don't rely on someone else to do
it for you. CHECK IT NOW.

2. Make sure you reply to ANY transfer request you may get. Don't assume its
spam and don't ignore it!

3. Lock your domains. If you don't have access to do this, ask your
registrar to do it for you.

Please, everyone, be careful and be proactive when it comes to protecting
your domain name!

--Tina

--
http://www.AffordableHOST.com - Managed, Dedicated and Colo Servers
http://www.AxisHost.com - High bandwidth Cpanel Hosting Accounts
Datacenter located in Grand Rapids, Michigan
Serving the web since 1997


 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2004, 14:49   #5 (permalink)
Eric Jarvis
Civilians

 
Default Re: Its started...

Tina - AffordableHOST, Inc. tina@affordablehost.com wrote:
>
> 1. Make absolutely sure that your correct email address is listed on your
> domain name record. Don't assume you do and don't rely on someone else to do
> it for you. CHECK IT NOW.
>


pretty much can't at present...all I've got is email via my domains. or
the email account on my only remaining ISP and that's inundated with
spam...takes about an hour to clear it enough to get at any genuine
emails and fills up again within four hours...I'm beginning to think I may
be going under within a month

--
eric
www.ericjarvis.co.uk
"live fast, die only if strictly necessary"
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2004, 14:49   #6 (permalink)
DoobieDo
Civilians

 
Default Re: Its started...

In article <1t6md.15433$up1.10698@text.news.blueyonder.co.uk> ,
questions@exleaseit.co.uk says...
> Tina - AffordableHOST, Inc. wrote:
> > This morning I've been under a deluge of transfer requests for domains which
> > I am listed as admin/tech/billing contact. They are all coming from Domain
> > Registry of America. The same shady outfit that, a few years back, was
> > snail mailing what appeared to be invoices to domain registrants. Once a
> > registrant paid the "invoice", their domains were transferred to DROA.
> >
> > Anyone else getting hit with these???
> >
> > --Tina
> >

>
> wow - I was hoping those guys had gone ... I hadn't seen anything from
> them for a while ...
>
>


I usually get a letter off them every few weeks advising and offering
their renewal services (it comes with an unstamped addressed envelope).

I fold the letter up neatly and post it back in said envelope (minus
stamp of course).
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2004, 16:00   #7 (permalink)
Neal
Civilians

 
Default Re: Its started...

GreyWyvern wrote:

> Just type in http://whois.sc/example.com where example.com is your
> domain.
>
> You'll find the answer in the Status field. ACTIVE = unlocked.
> REGISTRAR_LOCK or REGISTRANT_LOCK = locked.


Status:CLIENT TRANSFER PROHIBITED

That's good, right?
 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help? Trying To Get Started Here DrMojo Gaming club 9 06-30-2004 19:19
Getting Started Catherine O'Connor Microsoft Applications 1 06-16-2004 16:45
Started all over. 2.3Sleeper Microsoft Applications 17 06-16-2004 08:13
getting started... bell Microsoft Applications 2 06-16-2004 01:55
He started it! Hannibal Point/Counterpoint 21 03-16-2004 09:15


Community Information
Options
Quick Options
Trackpads Non-Commercial Ad
Copyright Information Click to Visit
Time
Server Time
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:54.
Copyright
Copyright Information
The header is based off of work by Vipixel.com and modified by this site. Trackpads and the Trackpads Logo are both Registered Trademarks of Jason Edwards and cannot be used without prior written permission.  The only exception is as a link back to this site. Trackpads is a private website run by a small legion of volunteers, 3 dogs, 12.5 cats and an army of small, super smart, bio-engineered mice with pointy hats and tutu's. Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0 RC7
Archive Links
Archive Links
Page generated in 1.00333 seconds with 19 queries