Go Back   Trackpads Community > General Discussions > Computer and Technology > Web Design

Web Design Forums and discussions on webdesign

Web Design

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-15-2004, 13:28   #1 (permalink)
Fat Sam
Civilians

 
Default Domain question

My old domain, knoxwebdesign.co.uk expired a few months ago.....Not a
problem, I didn't particularly want it anymore anyway......

But the problem I now have is that someone has now bought the domain, then
searched for an archived version of my old site, and uploaded this along
with a banner they've made, my old address, and a load of keyworded links to
porn sites.....

Is there any way I can track down who's behind this?.....I've tried doing
dns lookups on the domain and servers, but the best I can come up with is a
name and address in Poland.....

I'm doubtfull as to the authenticity of this name and address, as I have a
very good reason to suspect a certain owner of another shopping site of
trying to harm or damage our reputation.....

Anyone got any ideas?......

--
Sam.
www.doohickeys.co.uk
For Great Euro 2004 Stuff


---
Outgoing mail is certified Virus Free.
Checked by AVG anti-virus system (http://www.grisoft.com).
Version: 6.0.703 / Virus Database: 459 - Release Date: 10/06/2004


 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Trackpads Information
Click to Visit
Old 06-15-2004, 13:29   #2 (permalink)
Jan Harders
Civilians

 
Default Re: Domain question

"Fat Sam" <janetandsam@btbroadband.com wrote
> Is there any way I can track down who's
> behind this?.....I've tried doing
> dns lookups on the domain and servers,
> but the best I can come up with is a
> name and address in Poland.....


in this case my try would be to tell the provider about the
copyright-infringement.
that would be, according to
:http://www.dnsstuff.com/tools/whois....ebdesign.co.uk
Registrant's Agent:
Host Europe Internet Limited [Tag = HOSTEUROPE]
URL: http://www.webfusion.co.uk

they ought to check it and, if they can't get good reasons to not take the
page down, cancel the account or at least put an empty page on it, since it
would probably get them into trouble to support copyright-infringement.
another thing to check is, wether some guys from poland may actually
register a .co.uk-domain. I have no idea what the rules are in .uk, but in
..de, you have to have a guy in .de to be admin-c and contact for all legal
issues. if that is the case in .uk, too, then tell your nic about it and ask
them to delete the domain.

greets,

jan


 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2004, 13:29   #3 (permalink)
puk
Civilians

 
Default Re: Domain question

Fat Sam wrote:
> My old domain, knoxwebdesign.co.uk expired a few months ago.....Not a
> problem, I didn't particularly want it anymore anyway......
>
> But the problem I now have is that someone has now bought the domain,
> then searched for an archived version of my old site, and uploaded
> this along with a banner they've made, my old address, and a load of
> keyworded links to porn sites.....
>
> Is there any way I can track down who's behind this?.....I've tried
> doing dns lookups on the domain and servers, but the best I can come
> up with is a name and address in Poland.....
>
> I'm doubtfull as to the authenticity of this name and address, as I
> have a very good reason to suspect a certain owner of another
> shopping site of trying to harm or damage our reputation.....
>
> Anyone got any ideas?......


You've possibly got all this already - if not here it is:
Address lookup
canonical name knoxwebdesign.co.uk.
aliases
addresses 66.154.10.54


Domain Whois record
Queried whois.nic.uk with "knoxwebdesign.co.uk"...

Domain Name:
knoxwebdesign.co.uk

Registrant:
Raven

Registrant's Address:
piastow 4546
Krakow
poland
31-625
PL

Registrant's Agent:
Host Europe Internet Limited [Tag = HOSTEUROPE]
URL: http://www.webfusion.co.uk

Relevant Dates:
Registered on: 09-Jun-2004
Renewal Date: 09-Jun-2006
Last updated: 09-Jun-2004

Registration Status:
Registration request being processed

Name servers listed in order:
ns1.conepuppy.com 66.154.0.2
ns2.conepuppy.com 66.154.0.3

WHOIS database last updated at 2001 12-Jun-2004

--
(c) Nominet UK 1996 - 2004

For further information and terms of use please see http://www.nic.uk/whois
Nominet reserves the right to withhold access to this service at any time.

Network Whois record
Queried whois.arin.net with "66.154.10.54"...

OrgName: CP Cyber Wurx
OrgID: CPCW
Address: 4334 Unit L Arrow Tree
City: St. Louis
StateProv: MO
PostalCode: 63128
Country: US

NetRange: 66.154.0.0 - 66.154.95.255
CIDR: 66.154.0.0/18, 66.154.64.0/19
NetName: CONEPUPPY-COM
NetHandle: NET-66-154-0-0-1
Parent: NET-66-0-0-0-0
NetType: Direct Allocation
NameServer: NS1.CONEPUPPY.COM
NameServer: NS2.CONEPUPPY.COM
Comment: ADDRESSES WITHIN THIS BLOCK ARE NON-PORTABLE
RegDate: 2001-07-20
Updated: 2003-08-20

TechHandle: CS1169-ARIN
TechName: IP SUPPORT, Christopher
TechPhone: +1-404-681-9888
TechEmail: ipsupport@cyberwurx.com

# ARIN WHOIS database, last updated 2004-06-11 19:10
# Enter ? for additional hints on searching ARIN's WHOIS database.
DNS records
name class type data time to live
knoxwebdesign.co.uk IN MX preference: 10
exchange: cwmail.conepuppy.com
86400s (1.00:00:00)
knoxwebdesign.co.uk IN MX preference: 20
exchange: cwmail2.conepuppy.com
86400s (1.00:00:00)
knoxwebdesign.co.uk IN NS ns1.conepuppy.com 86400s (1.00:00:00)
knoxwebdesign.co.uk IN NS ns2.conepuppy.com 86400s (1.00:00:00)
knoxwebdesign.co.uk IN SOA server: ns1.conepuppy.com
email: hostmaster.conepuppy
serial: 2004061016
refresh: 28800
retry: 7200
expire: 604800
minimum ttl: 86400
86400s (1.00:00:00)
knoxwebdesign.co.uk IN A 66.154.10.54 86400s (1.00:00:00)
54.10.154.66.in-addr.arpa IN PTR reality-sites.com 86325s (23:58:45)


 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2004, 13:29   #4 (permalink)
Fat Sam
Civilians

 
Default Re: Domain question

<snipped excellent information>

Yeah, I'd managed to get that far.....So far I've contacted the abuse dept
and legal dept at Cyberwurx.com......
All I've asked them to do is remove my old address from the homepage, and
also remove mine and my wifes names from the Meta Keywords......

Hopefully they'll comply and I can put this to bed......

--
Sam.
www.doohickeys.co.uk
For Great Euro 2004 Stuff


---
Outgoing mail is certified Virus Free.
Checked by AVG anti-virus system (http://www.grisoft.com).
Version: 6.0.703 / Virus Database: 459 - Release Date: 10/06/2004


 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2004, 13:29   #5 (permalink)
Gerry White - For Email use My name at d e r g a l
Civilians

 
Default Re: Domain question

"Fat Sam" <janetandsam@btbroadband.com> wrote in message
news:2j11ncFrc3hkU1@uni-berlin.de...
> My old domain, knoxwebdesign.co.uk expired a few months ago.....Not a
> problem, I didn't particularly want it anymore anyway......
>
> But the problem I now have is that someone has now bought the domain, then
> searched for an archived version of my old site, and uploaded this along
> with a banner they've made, my old address, and a load of keyworded links

to
> porn sites.....
>
> Is there any way I can track down who's behind this?.....I've tried doing
> dns lookups on the domain and servers, but the best I can come up with is

a
> name and address in Poland.....
>
> I'm doubtfull as to the authenticity of this name and address, as I have a
> very good reason to suspect a certain owner of another shopping site of
> trying to harm or damage our reputation.....
>
> Anyone got any ideas?......
>
> --
> Sam.
> www.doohickeys.co.uk
> For Great Euro 2004 Stuff


Thats bizzare... and quite sick and, well evil.... you have my sympathies!
btw try visualroute.visualware.co.uk to track where it is hosted...

I am about to lose the domain name that I have been using for years because
the volume of spam has got stupid... that and someone has been using it as a
return address for spam...

G













 
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Re: domain question Charles Sweeney Web Design 0 09-26-2005 20:00
sub domain question??? plato Web Design 1 08-21-2005 12:00
Adding a domain question... Viper Web Design 10 05-13-2005 20:00
Domain Record Question mcp6453 Web Design 2 12-08-2004 13:00
Domain and emails question JohnZing Web Design 11 12-06-2004 16:00


Community Information
Options
Quick Options
Trackpads Non-Commercial Ad
Copyright Information Click to Visit
Time
Server Time
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:48.
Copyright
Copyright Information
The header is based off of work by Vipixel.com and modified by this site. Trackpads and the Trackpads Logo are both Registered Trademarks of Jason Edwards and cannot be used without prior written permission.  The only exception is as a link back to this site. Trackpads is a private website run by a small legion of volunteers, 3 dogs, 12.5 cats and an army of small, super smart, bio-engineered mice with pointy hats and tutu's. Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0 RC7
Archive Links
Archive Links
Page generated in 0.94585 seconds with 19 queries